HERE’s Change I Can Believe In!

Well, today I marked the end of my 6th week on the MediFast weight-loss program with a milestone:  I have officially reached the 20-lb loss mark!!!!!!!  My weight today was 208.5.  My counselor and I both did a happy dance!

I am averaging about 3 1/3 lbs. a week lost.  At the end of my 4th week, I was measured again–I’ve lost 10 inches, mostly in the shoulder/upper chest area.  I feel better than I have in a long time.  Also, I’ve finally figured out how to make the diet routine work around my schedule in a year-round classroom.  A typical weekday goes like this:

5:30-awaken and shower
6:00-dress, put on make-up, dry hair
6:30-make sure Hubby is awake (his commute takes 5 minutes; mine is 35)
6:40-gather the day’s necessities, mix a MediFast hot meal with my coffee in a to-go cup
6:50-leave for work, drink coffee/meal en route
7:30-enter Education office for daily roster and participation in the daily BMC (Bitch, Moan, and Complain)
8:00-go to classroom for planning period/prepare for the day
9:00-go to cafeteria to refill water bottle
9:10-return to office to make worksheet copies; prepare and eat MediFast oatmeal or scrambled eggs,
9:30-pick up students for morning session
12:00-lunch–a MediFast soup or stew.  If there is a company BBQ that day (that happens about every 4-6 weeks), I bring a measured salad from home and take the meat only for my “lean and green.”  Refill water bottle in cafeteria and fill cold drink mug with Diet Pepsi.  Go to car to call Hubby.
12:45-pick up students for afternoon session
3:10-MediFast bar while students work independently
3:30-School ends, leave for home.
Here, the routine depends on what’s on my plate that afternoon.  If it’s a weigh-in day, I go straight to MediFast.  If I have errands to do, I’ll do them–if they keep me out long enough, I’ll have another MediFast bar between 5:30 and 6.  If I go straight home and haven’t already had a “Lean and Green,” I’ll prepare one for Hubby and me to eat between 5:30 and 6.  Even though he isn’t on MediFast, he tries to eat like I do.
At about 8:30-9:00, it’s the last meal of the day.  A MediFast shake or dessert if I’ve already had my Lean and Green, or my Lean and Green if I haven’t had it yet.
10:00ish-bedtime.

I’ve had some fun with my Lean and Greens.  I even used this fun to do my good deed for the day.  While I was there today, a gentleman was getting his initial orientation for the program.  I could hear the doubt in his voice increasing as he realized his favorite soul food dishes were going to have to be avoided for the time being.  I grabbed a post-it note from the desk and quickly scribbled down a one-serving okra gumbo recipe I’ve perfected that fits the lean and green guidelines perfectly.  When I presented it to him, the relief on his face said it all.

Being there for each other–that’s what it’s all about.

1 Response to “HERE’s Change I Can Believe In!”


  1. 1 Surviving Fitness July 22, 2009 at 1:21 am

    HI! Congratulations on your great success with the program. I made my order on Monday and am anxiously awaiting the arrival of the box so that I can begin. Hope we can keep in touch – Blessings and best wishes, HK


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None
Widget_logo
i am a geek


My blog is worth $6,774.48.
How much is your blog worth?


